Saying Goodbye..

Cleaning out my desk...

I still remember sitting on mom and dad’s bed – asking mom what I should be when I grow up.

“I think you should go into communications.  Something with television,” mom said.  I decided that night, way back when, that she was right.  After all, I grew up watching NTV as a kid.  (Actually, I remember my sister Lindsay would tie me up to the kitchen chair as “punishment” and make me watch the news when I was little.  Eventually – I began watching without the punishment!)  Plus – going into broadcasting meant I wouldn’t have to study any math in college.  Extra bonus!  🙂  And…I really liked to talk.  Thus – the idea of a future in broadcast journalism was formed. 

Nearly 10 years and hundreds of journalism stories later..(yes, I will spare you those stories – but WOW do I have some good ones :)) I am about to call it quits in the world of television.  This Thursday will be my last “live” day of TV.  I have accepted a position with the Kearney Area Chamber of Commerce and will begin working with them on January 4th.

I am so very excited to start a new chapter of my life.  It will be incredibly strange at first.  I mean, many of you know every last detail about my life just by watching Good Life.  That’s mostly because I can’t keep my mouth shut about daily events – and I will miss that.  Thank goodness I still have blogs/facebook so I can talk to complete strangers about day-to-day events.  🙂 

I mean it when I say I WILL MISS the viewers and the guests so much!  You all were the BEST part of my day at NTV – hands down.  But…I am excited to spend more time with my girls and to write more children’s books…(and hopefully someday a novel.)  I am grateful to have been given the opportunity to be in television.  What awesome memories I have made!  But…it’s time for a change.  And although change can be scary, I know I can’t better myself without it.

So…my mom was right.  A career in television was the correct path.  After all, it allowed me to become the woman I am today.  And who knows.  Someday I may get back into this crazy business.  But for now – I will look forward to learning new things – and finding out what other opportunities are in my future. 

Thank you all for the memories.  They will not be forgotten.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay F. Brown
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 01:23:58

    Wow! I’m shocked! Just heard this, and although we will miss your smiling face, I don’t blame you for the change if you can have more family time! Take care of yourself and the family and I wish you the best luck in whatever you do! Check in once in a while on the FB page and let us know how you’re doing. The Kearney CofC is a very progressive organization, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy that too!

    Reply

  2. Vonda Marks
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 01:34:17

    I am going to miss you so much. I have watched you since you were on the morning news. You are the reason I started watching Good Life. And when I found out you were Lora’s sister that made it even better. We have known her for several years now. Our son had a crush on her from when she was the ER nurse one time we had him in there. I understand that you need to do what you feel is right for you and your family. But that won’t make it easy on us. You will be greatly missed. I wish you the best of luck in your new adventure. And please pop into the Good Life once in awhile. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 01:41:41

    Best of luck to you in your new adventure!

    Reply

  4. Kelly Rich
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 03:38:00

    Wishing you the best! I have enjoyed watching the Good Life and you made me laugh many times. Good luck on your new adventure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

